Workshop on Architecting Safety in Collaborative Mobile Systems (ASCoMS)

On-line proceedings

HAL collection of papers presented in ASCoMS:


Workshop location: Tourmalet room, LAAS

- 9:00-9:30 Chen, Lönn, Mraidha, Papadopoulos, Parker, Reiser, Servat, Silva Azevedo, Tucci-Piergiovanni, Walker. Automatic Optimisation of System Architectures using EAST-ADL
- 9:30-10:00 Nóbrega Da Costa, Craveiro, Casimiro, Rufino. Safety Kernel for Cooperative Sensor-Based Systems
- 10:00-10:30 Östberg, Bengtsson. Run time safety analysis for automotive systems in an open and adaptive environment
- 10:30-11:00 Leone, Muñoz. Content Based Routing with Directional Random Walk for Failure Tolerance and Detection in Cooperative Large Scale Wireless Networks
Coffee break
- 11:30-12:00 Pitrey, Sailhan. Revisiting Gossip-style Failure Detection in Wireless Sensor Network
- 12:00-12:30 Datta, Lamani, Larmore, Petit. Ring Exploration with Oblivious Myopic Robots
- 12:30-13:00 Ferreira, Oliveira, Almeida, Cruz. Fail Silent Road Side Unit for Vehicular Communications
Lunch break
- 14:00-14:30 Villani, Fathollahnejad, Pathan, Barbosa, Karlsson. Reliability Analysis of Consensus in Cooperative Transport Systems
- 14:30-15:00 Garbinato, Rickebusch. Secure Multiparty Computation vs. Fair Exchange - Bridging the Gap
- 15:00-15:30 Dolev, Panwar, Segal. Certificating Vehicle Public Key with Vehicle Attributes: A (periodical) Licensing Routine, Against Man-in-the-Middle Attacks and Beyond
Coffee break
- 16:00-16:30 Brade, Zug, Kaiser. Model-driven development of critical perception components using Simulink break
- 16:30-17:00 Ducourthial. Designing applications in dynamic networks: the Airplug Software Distribution
- 17:00-17:30 Berger, Al Mamun, Hansson. COTS-Architecture with a Real-Time OS for a Self-Driving Miniature Vehicle
- 17:30-18:00 Tomaselli, Landsiedel. Towards lightweight logging and replay of embedded, distributed systems

- 18:30: Welcome cocktail, Toulouse Cityhall (Capitole) - Salle des Illustres

The continuous emergence and improvement of sensor and communication technologies creates new opportunities for designing embedded and mobile systems that are able to interact with their environment, and exhibit "smart" and autonomous behaviour. Furthermore, collaboration between mobile entities can also be envisaged for improving their functionality. However, a fundamental challenge is to ensure that safety requirements are satisfied despite the increased system complexity and the uncertainties introduced by the operation in open and not well defined environments. In particular, it is necessary to deal with temporal uncertainties that may affect the environment perception as well as the coordination of mobile entities. In general, the problem might be equated in terms of achieving functional safety. Then, the challenge is to adapt the system to different performance levels as needed to ensure safety according to the existing operational conditions (e.g. system and environment state). In any case, some minimal level of performance is always needed to ensure that safety can be achieved, which should be reflected on the architectural design. From an application perspective, the workshop focuses on distributed and cooperative safety-critical systems, in particular on the automotive and aeronautic domains.

Some of the topics that are relevant and welcome in the workshop include (but are not restricted to) the following:

- Architectural design for safety-critical systems
- Aspects of functional safety
- Reliable perception of the environment
- Coordination and adaptation strategies for safety-critical systems
- Safety in automotive and avionic applications
- System safety guidelines and standards
- Safety, security and stabilization

ASCoMS 2013 solicits high quality papers reporting research results, experience reports, extended abstracts, work-in-progress reports or position papers that are related to the topics mentioned above. All papers must be original, unpublished, and not submitted for publication elsewhere. All prospective participants should submit an extended abstract, work-in-progress report or position paper. Contributions must be submitted as PDF files, should be at most 12 pages (including references, figures, etc.) in Springer LNCS format, see Information for LNCS Authors. The submissions should explain the contribution to the field and the novelty of the work, making clear the current status of the work. Each paper will undergo a thorough review process and will be reviewed by at least three members of the Program Committee. If necessary, the paper may be supplemented with a clearly marked appendix, which will be reviewed at the discretion of the program committee. Papers should be submitted electronically using EasyChair online submission system. The workshop papers will be published online on the HAL/Arxiv open publication site.

Submission deadline: May 15, 2013 May 21, 2013 (extended)
Author notification: June 12, 2013
Publication ready copy: June 21, 2013
Workshop: September 24, 2013

Andreas Abele (Robert Bosch GmbH, Germany)
Luis Almeida (University of Porto, Portugal)
Andrea Bondavalli (University of Firenze, Italy)
António Casimiro (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Bertrand Ducourthial (Université de Technologie de Compiègne, France)
Karl Goeschka (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Teruo Higashino (Osaka University, Japan)
Per Johannessen (Volvo Group Trucks Technology, Sweden)
Edgar Nett (Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany)
Marina Papatriantafilou (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
Carlos Eduardo Pereira (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Jörg Kaiser (Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany)
Vana Kalogeraki (Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece)
Johan Karlsson (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
Marc-Olivier Killijian (Laboratory for Analysis and Architecture of Systems, France)
Pierre Leone (Geneva University, Switzerland)
Henrik Lönn, co-chair (Volvo Group Trucks Technology, Sweden)
Rolf Johansson (SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden)
Elad Michael Schiller, co-chair (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
Martin Törngren, (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
Stefan Voget (Continental Automotive, Sweden)